A Poor Fit

October 18, 2010 mommytobeaver
Tags: ,

This morning, Tim and I made the decision to pull Charla out of her current preschool and move her to a different one. Charla has been at this preschool since the first week in June. She goes twice per week for about 4.5 hours per day. However, she is not getting used to it. She continues to have a super hard time at drop off and will even start crying about not wanting to go to school right away in the morning before we leave the house! This doesn’t feel right to me.

So, when I went to pick her up this afternoon I handed in her 2 week notice. The director kept saying that she didn’t go enough to be used to things. I call bull on that! She isn’t some little baby that forgets people if she doesn’t see them in two days. She knows these peoples names and should be able to remember from day to day what it’s like there. Do I need her to run with open arms to the teacher at drop off? No, absolutely not. However, I do expect her to not be clinging to me still, by the 5th month.

Her new preschool will be the one in which I worked while pregnant with her. I know all (or at least most) of the ladies working there and I hope it will be a better fit for her. I initially wanted to start her there in the summer but the benefit of starting her in this other center was she would be in her aunts room for the first couple of months. This didn’t make much difference in regards to drop off , but I think overall she did do better in her aunt’s room. In her current room the teachers tell me she settles down at circle time, which I found out today isn’t until 9:30 and she gets dropped off a little before 8am!

I’m really hoping this is the right decision. I know she takes longer to warm up to different situations. I feel like I’ve given the center a chance. Hopefully my sister in law won’t be too upset since she works there, but I have to do what’s right for my family. Tomorrow I will be going to the new center to drop off my holding check and get a tour. I’m hoping to be able to talk to the teachers a bit as well. Then I plan to take drop off the first day slow. If it takes her an hour to warm up, then fine but I’ll stay with her until she’s more comfortable.

Entry Filed under: Daily Thoughts

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Posts From the Past

October 2010
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Recent Posts

 
