Christmas Parade!

November 30, 2010 mommytobeaver
Tags: , , ,

Last Sunday was the Christmas parade. Charla’s first parade was the 4th of July one this past summer. She really loved it so I figured the Christmas parade would be just as fun. Tim had to work, so just this was something just Charla and I were going to do. She had seen some of the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day parade on TV and really loved the dancing. I thought she would really enjoy the cheerleaders and pom poms.

It was in the upper 20’s on Sunday, cold but not unbearable. The parade was supposed to start at 11am so we got to our sitting spot a little after 10:30am. I had brought her some snacks so she munched on those for awhile while we waited. Finally we could see the parade coming down the street. Charla loved it. She got to see big firetrucks, people dressed up in costumes, marching bands and dogs. There was a lot of candy being tossed out. Charla is still a little young to understand running out in the street to get candy, so the two little girls we were sitting near would give her some that they had collected. It was very sweet!

About 3/4 of the way through the parade, I started to get cold so I knew Charla was probably getting cold as well. Sure enough, she soon told me her hands and feet hurt. I figured the parade would be over soon and asked her if she wanted to leave or stay. She wanted to stay. About 5 minutes later she started fussing and whining, so I knew we had to go. She was not happy about leaving though.

I started packing up our chairs and she cried because she didn’t want to leave the parade. When she’s upset, she likes to be held and carried. However, because I was alone, carrying my bag and two chairs, there was no way I was going to be able to carry her back to the car. I felt horrible about ending our fun morning like that, but I ended up taking her hand and dragging a crying child down the street.

All in all, we had a great time at the parade. Once we were in the car and starting to thaw, we talked about all the fun stuff we saw in the parade and Charla was very excited to tell daddy about what she had seen. I learned some things about taking a kid to a winter parade though. Next year I plan on dressing her a bit warmer, bringing along some blankets and, if possible, not going by myself!

Entry Filed under: Family Fun,Holiday

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Posts From the Past

November 2010
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Recent Posts

 
