Bedtime Battles

December 3, 2010 mommytobeaver
Tags: , ,

One thing I wish I could change about the way I parent is to have more patience at the end of the day. I start getting Charla ready for bed at 7:30 each night. This involves giving her some milk, reading a few stories, getting pajamas on and brushing teeth. Once all of that is done, I will rock her for a few minutes and we talk about her day and what we have planned for tomorrow. For the most part, this is a very enjoyable time for both of us.

However, some nights she’s overtired, cranky and doesn’t want to have anything to do with falling asleep. When this happens, she will drag out bedtime for at least 20 minutes. Nights like this are when my patience snaps and I just want her to stop the games and go to bed. I don’t even care if she falls asleep at that point, I just don’t want to have to listen to the whining and crying.

I try very hard to be patient. I know she’s only 2 and this is part of being young. However, after a long day I just want to peace and quiet. A lot of nights, my day isn’t even done when she goes to bed. I still have 30 minutes to 1 hour of work yet to do before I can relax and do something for me. So, I get mad and sometimes I yell. This is not how I want to end an otherwise good day.

I need to come up with a solution so that our days don’t end in Charla crying and me yelling. I’m going to go through our routine and see if there’s something there I can try changing. I’ll also have to think about ways to talk to her about this so that she knows yelling is not the way I want to deal with this problem. I’m hoping with a little work, we can have a new and improved bedtime routine, one that is calming and loving again.

Entry Filed under: Daily Thoughts

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Posts From the Past

December 2010
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Mar »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Recent Posts

 
