During the Winter

December 23, 2010 mommytobeaver
Tags:

Winter in Wisconsin can be a lot of fun. We build snowmen, go for walks in falling snow, sled and slide on ice. One of my favorite moments of the winter so far has been walking in a soft snowfall and then coming inside for some hot chocolate.

Winter can also be a time of cold, boredom and frustration. January is especially difficult. It’s the coldest month, there’s nothing special during the month to look forward too and it feels like it lasts forever. If tanning wasn’t so bad for the skin, I would be laying in a bed at least twice per week to feel the warmth and suck in the ultraviolet rays. When I was a teenager I tanned a few times and loved it. However, I just can’t justify doing that kind of damage to my skin.

So, I have to find other ways to occupy myself and keep up the positive mood. Movies and television is something I enjoy. I have a few select shows that I watch each week and Tim and I rent a movie each weekend. I’m not a channel surfer though. So, if one of my shows isn’t on, I don’t sit and mindlessly watch something I don’t care about.

My next favorite thing is reading. I always have a book going. Ever since I was 4 years old and beginning to read, it has been one of my passions. If I don’t feel like reading, I might visit a few websites online. I used to be online more, however, I found it to be a huge time sucker. I would go on and before I knew it, 2 hours had passed. I simply don’t have enough free time to abuse like that.

Recently I’ve started baking more. And scrapbooking. Writing in this blog has also started taking more of a front seat.

So, winter will pass. I will try to enjoy it the best I can. Spending time with my family and doing the things I love.

Entry Filed under: Daily Thoughts

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Posts From the Past

December 2010
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Mar »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Recent Posts

 
