Balancing Act

April 1, 2011 mommytobeaver
Tags: , ,

Having a child has been a great learning experience for me. Not just about how I am as a parent but how I am as a person as well. I have learned more about myself in the last 3 years than in my entire life. Perhaps this is because I’m at a point in my life where I’m receptive to these life lessons. Or maybe that’s just what children do, teach you as much as you teach them.

I never thought I would be an overprotective parent. I wouldn’t call myself a “helicopter” parent, but I’m definitely more protective than I thought I would be. It started as soon as she was born. Charla was a few weeks premature and tiny. I felt like any wrong movement could break her. She grew quickly but then I became concerned about other things; is she eating enough/too much? Is she hitting milestones appropriately? Does she hear okay? See okay?

Now, to add to all those normal mommy concerns, is the worry about Charla’s next illness. I’m having a hard time balancing this new worry. I can’t keep her in a bubble, she will get sick again. So, I send her to school and trust that they will follow my directions and everything will be okay. Charla’s first day back to school after her seizure was like the first day of school all over again for me. She’s been going Monday through Friday morning for the last 3 months, however, that morning I was worried and didn’t want to leave her. It’s hard for me to place the “control” in someone elses hands. It’s gotten easier as the week goes on, but I know as soon as Charla shows signs of catching a cold, it will be hard again.

I try hard not to let her know about my worries. She loves her school, her teacher and her friends and is so happy to go every morning. I guess I just need time to get back on my feet and find my new balance.

Entry Filed under: Medical Stuff

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Posts From the Past

April 2011
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Recent Posts

 
