Stormy Night

April 4, 2011 mommytobeaver
Tags:

Today’s going to be a long day. I’m functioning on about 4 hours of sleep. Some crazy storms blew through last night. Normally I can sleep through thunderstorms, but these were not normal. At about midnight I was woken up by constant flashing. It was like there was a strobe light outside my window. There was also a constant rumbling of thunder and I laid in bed for a few minutes waiting for the tornado to come smashing through the house to kill us all.

Tim was up in the living room keeping an eye on things, so I went out by him. We watched the storm for about 10 minutes. Neither of us had ever seen a storm like it. Supposedly it had dropped quarter sized hail 60 miles west of us. Thankfully by the time it reached us, it only had pea sized hail. The lightening is what made it so impressive though, it was constant.

After awhile I went back to bed. But a few hours later I was woken up again by really heavy rain hitting my window. There may have been hail in that too, but I’m not sure because I didn’t get up to look. I did think that the window was going to be blown in as I drifted back to sleep. This is why Tim is in charge of watching storms. We would all die if I was in charge because I would just roll over and go back to sleep!

Charla slept through the whole thing. She’s not scared of storms. Perhaps because neither Tim nor I make a big deal of them. I think we would have to actually see the tornado before we headed downstairs. Although, we would probably be too busy taking pictures of it, so maybe we would never go downstairs.

Entry Filed under: Daily Thoughts

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Posts From the Past

April 2011
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Recent Posts

 
