First Kiss

April 6, 2011 mommytobeaver
Tags: , ,

A few months ago, Tim and I put the idea of another child on the back burner. After trying for a little over a year, it seemed like the opportunity had passed us by. At least for now. I love my little family right now. I’m happy. And I got tired of having the possibility of more looming over my head. So, this summer will once again be all about my little girl.

Charla’s birthday is right around the corner. It’s hard to believe she’s been in my life for almost 3 years. I look at the little person she’s turned into and it’s hard to see the baby I gave birth to. She lost the “baby” look quite awhile ago but now she’s losing the pudgy, dimpled “toddler” look as well. She’s looking like a little girl. I can put her hair in a ponytail. She’s losing the little fat roll behind her left knee. She’s speaking sentences to me, can remember things that happened months ago and just yesterday, told me to get out of her room while she was playing.

When I look at her, I couldn’t imagine life without her. From the moment I held her, I couldn’t imagine life without her. I remember what I was thinking a few hours after she was born. I was alone in my room with her for the first time. Everyone else had gone home to sleep since we had been up all night. I wasn’t even close to tired. I was resting in bed, holding my sleeping baby, snuggling her and breathing in her baby scent. That’s when I kissed her on her squishy little forehead and told her I loved her, for the first time. It was at that moment that I realized she was mine. Not in a possessive way but in a way that I was so excited to share the world with her. To share her happiness, her sorrow, her fears and anything else that came her way. And now, almost 3 years later, after thousands more kisses and telling her “I love you”, I still feel the same way.

Entry Filed under: They Grow Up So Fast

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Posts From the Past

April 2011
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Recent Posts

 
