The Issues

April 7, 2011 mommytobeaver
Tags: , ,

As a parent there are many issues that will crop up: homework, curfew, boys, clothing, make-up…the list goes on. For virtually any issue I can see how I want to handle things. Whether or not I handle it that way or if that’s the correct way, that’s up for debate. The one issue I have trouble with though is eating and weight gain.

When I was a teenager, I went through a period of disordered eating. I’m not sure whether or not this is a common thing for teen girls to go through or not. I know weight is a big concern for many girls but how many of these girls turn around and obsess over it, I just don’t know. I counted calories, made graphs, created goals and skipped meals. I lost some weight, put it back on and lost some more. I was not an overweight kid, nor was I underweight.

I continued this battle through my early 20’s. I ended up gaining about 20 pounds the first few years after I got married. I went on another diet and lost this weight plus some more. This was not a healthy “diet”. At the worst, I was working out and eating only 800 calories per day. Then I got pregnant. In the first trimester, I lost 10 pounds. Not on purpose. I was really trying to eat healthy, that’s just what my body did. I gained that back plus another 30, not too bad. But this post isn’t about my pregnancy weight!

Charla is an average sized child. She’s in the 70th percentile for weight and 60th for height. She enjoys healthy food, although I wish she would eat more veggies. I try to eat as healthy as possible in front of her and I never say anything about my body when she can hear me. I know this isn’t enough. I know at one point in her life she’s going to think she’s “fat”. What I don’t know is what to do about this. Say “no your not”, but that just doesn’t seem like enough. At the same time, I don’t want to put my issues on her and turn it into something larger than what it is. She’s not me, she may not struggle with body image as much as I did and do.

I think every parent just wants the best for their child. But some of the things kids face, especially little girls, is hard.

 

Entry Filed under: Daily Thoughts

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Posts From the Past

April 2011
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Recent Posts

 
