Friends? Nah.

April 11, 2011 mommytobeaver
Tags:

How in the hell do adults make friends?

I’ve never understood this. I guess through work, but many people I talk with aren’t hanging out with co-workers on the weekends. Through other friends? Probably, so I guess I’m out of luck on that one.

Even when I was working, I didn’t create close enough relationships with people to hang out after work. There was one person, but then after I had Charla I was overwhelmed and tired and didn’t return her calls (whoops). I think that’s my biggest problem – returning phone calls isn’t high on my priority list. Text me and I’ll text you right back, but I can’t seem to find time for phone calls – or I forget.

I took Charla to a playgroup for a little over a year. Didn’t meet a single person. Is my area of the world just dried up/picked over? Actually, I think it’s me.

I work hard at pushing people away and I don’t know why. Actually, I know why – I don’t want to put myself out there and get rejected. But is it better to have no one? Sometimes I think yes, other times I think no.

In high school, I had a rather large group of friends. We would hang out week nights, weekends, between classes and any other free moment we had. Then I broke up with my boyfriend and they all took his side. I graduated a semester early, got married and never looked back. That was probably the wrong thing to do, but I was upset. I found a few of them through Facebook, but obviously there’s no way we’re going to go back to what we once were, that was almost 10 years ago!

It seems like so many people are so interconnected nowadays that it’s hard to compete. I don’t have internet on my phone, nor do I want it. I do not need to know what everyone is doing at all hours of the day and night no matter where I am. Also, I think it’s incredibly rude to get together with someone and then surf the web on your phone the whole time so you can stay up to date in your friends’ lives. RUDE!

Off topic rant: Tim and I invited my brother and his wife over yesterday. She was on her phone so much that she needed to charge her battery. Granted, some of that time was checking radar because we were going to get some storms. But a lot of it was on Facebook. Then she goes on and on about how she’s going to have “girl day” with one of her friend’s kids, who is maybe a year older than Charla. Saying how this kid is so great and she misses her because now she goes to a different daycare. Ummmm, you haven’t seen Charla in over a month and you spend the majority of the time on your phone…..bitch. And Tim wonders why I don’t have them over more often, hahahaha. Rant over.

Now the rant raised my blood pressure by about 10 points and I have nothing else to say. I guess I’m just not a people person.

Entry Filed under: Daily Thoughts

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Posts From the Past

April 2011
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Recent Posts

 
