The Job of Motherhood

April 12, 2011 mommytobeaver
Tags: , ,

I’ve written many times about how much I love being a mommy. But, there’s the reverse side of it too. It’s exhausting, thankless and time consuming work. There are times when I look back longingly at life before baby. Not that I would ever want to go back there permanently, but a week might be nice!

I hit a roadblock on Saturday. I was tired, Charla decided not to nap and I didn’t want to do anything. I didn’t want to play. Didn’t want to read. Didn’t want to go outside and push her in the swing. So, I took a nap and Tim played with her. I ended up sleeping for 2.5 hours and boy, did I need it! Once I woke up, I felt human again and could push aside my desire to do nothing.

I really don’t know how single parents do it. I supposed they just do it because they have to, there’s no one else to do it and things must get done. I do most of the housework and child care around here, but when I do need that break, I can usually get it. Raising a child is a lot more tiring than I thought it would be. It’s a lot more rewarding than I thought too though, so I guess it balances out.

Entry Filed under: Daily Thoughts

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Posts From the Past

April 2011
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Recent Posts

 
