Life

May 10, 2011 mommytobeaver
Tags: , ,

Bringing life into the world has changed a lot of my outlooks on many different topics. However, the most changed outlook may very well be how precious life is. How easily “living” can be taken away. I look at my daughter and can’t imagine what life would be without her in it. Yet at the same time, I know how quickly that could happen. I don’t sit and dwell on this thought because it is rather unpleasant. Sometimes though, it sneaks into the corner of my thoughts and it feels like I’ve been punched.

The same goes for my life. I’m not sure what I believe in as far as religion and the afterlife. I was raised a Christian, but I haven’t been to church in almost 2 years. I’m not necessarily scared of death as much as how I’m going to die. I hope I will live to a ripe old age and watch Charla grow up, go to school, start a career, get married and have her own children. The thought of missing any part of her life due to me dying hits me almost as hard as the thought of losing her.

I want to be here for everything. I want to watch all her accomplishments and be there with her to celebrate them.

Thankfully, my health is not in question. It’s scary though reading about how things cause cancer. Or how if you don’t eat properly you shave years off your life. And if you don’t exercise you are at greater risk for heart attack. Not to mention the statistics of car accidents or the probability of another World War. Even 2012 can be unsettling, although I’m not putting much trust in that theory. The world is a scary place and it can be an overwhelming job to protect our children, our partners and ourselves.

Entry Filed under: Daily Thoughts

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Posts From the Past

May 2011
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Recent Posts

 
