In Process

May 11, 2011 mommytobeaver
Tags: , ,

Lately it seems like I am all about self exploration. I’m not an emotionally deep person. Meaning, I don’t sit and ponder the meaning of life or why I am a certain way. I took a psychology class in high school, but that is the extent of my knowledge of the brain’s inner workings. However, like I’ve repeatedly said, becoming a parent opened my eyes to a few things.

Yet another one of those things is my family and extended family. Growing up, I always thought we were a close family. We got together for every major holiday and even some of the minor ones. There would be laughing, talking, and playing games. Don’t get me wrong, family gatherings were fun. But…..

Now that I’ve grown up and had a child, I can see family gatherings a little more clearly. I’ve become familiar to the family politics. My family isn’t exactly open with one another. Emotions get hid, people get mad without voicing their concerns and passive-aggressive comments are made. I guess this is pretty unavoidable whenever there is a group of people getting together on a regular basis.

I have a good relationship with my parents. However, there are certain parenting techniques I’m doing differently and things I want to do differently as Charla gets older. It can be hard to step out of the mold. When I’ve had a bad day I feel myself slipping back to the yelling and frustration that my parents often used to discipline.

I also find myself as a glass half empty person. I’m not sure if this is something that can be genetically inherited, but I’m sure if you live around that for the early part of your life you tend to pick it up. I’m trying to have a more optimistic outlook on life and not let the little things bother me.

So, those are the two big things I’m trying to work on within myself. I know that anger, frustration and negativity are always going to be a part of life. They are necessary emotions since life cannot always be sunshine and rainbows. But I think aiming for more fun, happy times is a good goal.

Entry Filed under: Family Fun

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Posts From the Past

May 2011
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Recent Posts

 
