Dr. Google

May 19, 2011 mommytobeaver
Tags: ,

I have always been told that ADD runs in my family. I haven’t been officially diagnosed with it, but, that’s just a technicality. I was able to make my way through school without much difficulty so my parents never pushed for a diagnosis. My dad and brother have both been officially diagnosed.

I’ve been doing a bit of research lately. There are certain things about Charla that don’t sit right with me. She’s very intelligent, her verbal skills are excellent and she’s just as cute as can be. However, her large motor has never been that great and she has certain oddities with textures and large crowds. During my research I came across sensory processing disorder. Charla has a few of the symptoms. What surprised me, however, was how many I have. Way more than Charla.

Supposedly people find ways of coping with it if it’s mild enough. I’m not sure I’m coping though. In large crowds I have a huge problem focusing on one conversation; to the point where I won’t involve myself in any conversations. I also have a very hard time focusing in stores if I need to bring Charla along. It’s like I’m overwhelmed with having to get what I came for while watching Charla. Multiple times I have left without taking the things I purchased. I hate certain textures of food. When playing in the sandbox I always brush the sand off my hands or pants; even if it’s just a few grains. I have to externally calm myself by squeezing something soft and cold – like a blanket. If Charla’s blankey is laying next to me I find myself constantly squishing it in my hands.

I’m not sure what I want to do about this. I’ve been thinking about it now for about a week. I guess I feel like I already have so many coping mechanisms in place that I will be okay. Plus, how much stock can I really put in a self diagnosis I made through the internet?

Entry Filed under: Daily Thoughts,Medical Stuff

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Posts From the Past

May 2011
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Recent Posts

 
