Balancing Busy

June 6, 2011 mommytobeaver
Tags: , ,

There is nothing better than a busy but fun weekend. Weekends are meant to be busy. They are meant for getting together with people, going to new places and playing with children. Of course, there needs to be a balance between being busy and allowing yourself to relax. This past weekend supplied both opportunities simultaneously.

My brother and his wife rent a townhouse that supplies a pool. The pool is in great shape, is fairly large and it’s heated. We all love it and, now that the weather is improving, we’re taking advantage of it. By the end of last summer, Charla was able to swim with her life vest on. We’ve gotten into the pool twice so far this year and, while Charla is a bit more timid in the water, she is still loving it. I bought her a floating tube which she loves. She hangs onto its sides all by herself and spins herself in circles. We stayed in the pool for close to 2 hours. Then we sat on the porch and dried off. It was fun, relaxing and the weather was super.

Sunday was our relaxing day at home. I spent some time straightening up the master bedroom. We have lived in our condo for almost 7 years and I still have not given the master bedroom a personal touch. It is a room I go into to sleep and not much else. Over the years it has built up some storage items, even though we have a storage area in our basement. Yesterday, I focused on getting the storage stuff out of the bedroom. This took me about an hour and made a huge difference in the room’s appearance. Then, I bought some sheer, white curtains and hung them. They give the room a very cozy feel. I need to hang a few pictures on the walls, but it’s starting to feel more homey.

Over the next few weeks I’m going to focus on decluttering. The closets and cabinets desperately need this. It’s amazing how much junk gets accumulated. It is slightly life-threatening when opening some closets. Most things have places to go and I try to keep them there. The kitchen is a constantly losing battle because of dishes. I always feel like I’m one load of dishes behind what I should be.

We have 3 more weeks before our long holiday weekend. With the long weekend last weekend and the short week that followed, I’m out of synch and not ready to get back to work this morning. Life goes on though and the weekend is only 5 days away. Can you tell I live for my weekends?!

Entry Filed under: Family Fun

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Posts From the Past

June 2011
M T W T F S S
« May    
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Recent Posts

 
