New Techniques

June 9, 2011 mommytobeaver
Tags: ,

I don’t know who came up with the phrase “terrible twos” but I think they were mistaken. Yes, two year olds have their moments. The tantrums, the whining and the frustration that comes with not being able to express yourself properly are all part of being two. I guess one could assume that once a child reaches three, her vocabulary becomes that much better and she is able to express herself through words instead of action. But, as annoying as whining is, the words that can come out of a 3 year old’s mouth are much worse.

“Don’t talk to me.”

“You worry about you. I’ll worry about me.”

I hear those two phrases uttered a lot. And along with the phrases comes the closing of the bedroom door, the smirk with eye rolling and the walking away. Aren’t those supposed to be the actions of a teenager?! It’s like suddenly overnight my sweet 2 year old has become a pre-teen…But without any of the reasoning skills.

I tried something today that I’ve been waiting to try for over a year. I read about it somewhere (Love and Logic perhaps?). I had given her the 1 minute before nap time warning. She acknowledged and continued playing. After that minute was up I said it was time to go to her bedroom and read some books. I was immediately met with resistance, just like I have been for the last week. I knew something needed to happen so this didn’t become part of our routine. So, I asked her if she had any ideas on how she could come to her room happily.

At first she just said, “I could listen.” Okay, great, let’s go. Nope, that wasn’t going to cut it. So I said we need different ideas. She didn’t have any so I gave her some. I mentioned that we could hop to her room or we could walk to her room like cats. She didn’t like those ideas. I said she could drink some water while we read books. She didn’t like that either. Again I asked her if she had any ideas. To my surprise she said “I could drink water while you read and we can walk like cats.” Awesome let’s go! And she got up and happily went to her room. I was shocked. This entire process only took about 3 minutes and the end result was a pleasant 3 year old sitting on my lap, drinking water and listening to stories

So, maybe three year olds aren’t terrible, but the process in handling them is much more complicated!

Entry Filed under: They Grow Up So Fast

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Posts From the Past

June 2011
M T W T F S S
« May    
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Recent Posts

 
